Captain Chuckles

One of my reading improvement students told me she’s starting to enjoy The Fifth Wave despite its slow start. I told her I was glad, but then I asked if she read Looking for Alaska, and she said yes. I told her it was a banned/challenged book and explained why after she asked. She recalled her reading experience and didn’t think it should’ve been banned or challenged. Then, as she was taking a drink from her water bottle, I told her Captain Underpants was also a banned book, and she almost spit out her water all over the table. She continued to laugh hysterically (the loudest I’ve heard her laugh all year) and turned red. I’m glad she could see the ridiculousness of book banning, especially one such as the commander of undergarments.

Leave a Reply

